Died legendary champion: his name the whole world knows

Умер легендарный чемпион: его фамилию знает весь мир

In England and died one of the best goalkeepers in the history of world football Gordon banks

The former goalkeeper of English national team passed away at the age of 81, reports the BBC.

The cause of death of the legendary athlete was cancer that he was diagnosed with in December 2015.

Умер легендарный чемпион: его фамилию знает весь мир

Gordon banks famous for playing for England, which in 1966 became the world champion on a home world Cup. This victory at the world championship is still the only one in the history of the English national team.

Умер легендарный чемпион: его фамилию знает весь мир

In addition, in 1968 the goalkeeper in the national team of England won the bronze medal of the European Championship.

The save from Gordon banks at the 1970 world Cup after hitting the legendary Brazilian Pele was voted the best in the history of football.

At club level, the English goalkeeper played for Chesterfield, Leicester city and Stoke city in England as well as Cleveland Stokers and Fort Lauderdale Strikers in the USA, Hellenic in South Africa and St Patrick in Ireland.

In the composition of Leicester and Stoke won two football League Cup in 1964 and 1972 respectively.

The international Association of football history and statistics (IFFHS) in the list of the best goalkeepers in the world in the twentieth century took Gordon banks second place. Legendary English goalkeeper was second only to Lev Yashin.

Informed the Professional football League of France announced the death of the legendary figures in the history of world football. Famous French journalist Jacques Ferran died on 7 Feb 99-m to year of life in Paris.

READ  Opponent Joshua threatened him with beatings: "He made a mistake"

Jacques Ferrand, in addition to journalistic activities, has made a great contribution to the development of modern football, becoming one of the founders of the European Cup/Champions League and Golden ball awards.

As a journalist he spent a long time working in the edition of France Football, and was the chief editor of L’équipe.

In 1955, Jacques Ferrand, along with two colleagues from France Football Gabriel ANO and Jacques de Risvik, as well as representatives of the best football clubs in Europe have developed the format and rules of the main European club tournament – the European Champions Cup, which this time was transformed into the Champions League.

Умер легендарный чемпион: его фамилию знает весь мир

After the first Cup of Champions Ferrand in 1956 also became one of the founders of the now most prestigious individual award in football, the Golden ball, which since that time is annually awarded to the best player in the world.

Earlier, the ceremony of awarding the Golden ball which is awarded to the best player in the world by the end of the calendar year. The winner was the midfielder of real Madrid and Croatia’s Luka Modric.

As reported Politeka, announced record spending of football clubs on transfers: the sum is impressive.

Also Politeka told me that the main rich of the football world: how to earn the clubs.

Share Button